Contact Us

(206) 341-0420

T. Evans Wyckoff Lecture in Neuroscience

The T. Evans Wyckoff Lecture in Neuroscience at Virginia Mason was established in 2000 by Ann Pigott Wyckoff in honor of her late husband, Theodore Evans Wyckoff. The lectureship is the Neuroscience Institute’s premiere annual event, featuring internationally-renowned physicians and researchers in the field of neuroscience. Lectures are free and open to the medical community.

Countering Muscle Atrophy in Neurodegenerative Diseases:
Lessons learned from ALS, Myotonic Dystrophy and Inclusion Body Myositis

Tahseen Mozaffar, MD

Tahseen Mozaffar, MD
17th Annual T. Evans Wyckoff Lecturer
Professor, Clinical Neurology and Orthopaedic Surgery
Director, UC Irvine-MDA ALS and Neuromuscular Center
University of California, Irvine, School of Medicine

Save the Date
Friday, October 13, 2017 7:30am
Volney Richmond Auditorium
1201 Terry Ave, Seattle, WA 98101
Open to the Medical Community

Tahseem Mozaffar, MD, completed medical school in Pakistan followed by clinical and research fellowships in neuromuscular disorders at Washington University in St. Louis. Since joining the University of California, Irvine as a clinical assistant professor of neurology, he has become board certified in neurology, neuromuscular pathology, and neuromuscular medicine. In addition to his role as professor of neurology, he directs the UC Irvine Neurology Residency Training Program and serves as the Department of Neurology’s Vice Chair for Educational Affairs. Dr. Mozaffar’s interests are in mechanisms underlying muscle atrophy in ALS and various neuromuscular disorders, as well as in compression neuropathy.

The T. Evans Wyckoff Lecture in Neuroscience Endowed Fund annually provides funding to bring to the Virginia Mason campus a prominent leader in neuroscience to present his or her work in the field to the medical community.

T. Evans Wyckoff

Theodore Evans Wyckoff was a lumber entrepreneur and former director of the Washington State Department of Commerce and Economic Development. He had an unquenchable thirst for learning and adventure. When diagnosed with ALS, Mr. Wyckoff took it upon himself to research and learn about his diagnosis with the same enthusiasm as his other intellectual pursuits. He always asked hard questions, sought truth and wisdom, welcomed contradictory opinions, and took pride in healthy debate. Today, his family continues his values in education and new knowledge with this lectureship.

Past presenters include:

2016 — Amit Bar-Or, MD, McGill University
"Evolving Insights and Therapies for Multiple Sclerosis"

2015 — John M. Ravits, MD, UC San Diego School of Medicine
“What Is C9orf72 Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Why Is It Rocking the Field of Neurodegeneration?”

2014 — Richard A. Deyo, MD, MPH, Oregon Health and Science University
“Overuse in the Treatment of Low Back Pain:  Time to Back Off?”

2013 — Stanley A. Herring, MD, University of Washington Medicine Health System
“Youth Sports Concussion Legislation: The Zackery Lystedt Story”

2012 — Teepu Siddique, MD, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University
“ALS: A Ubiquilinopathy”

2011 — Kathleen M. Foley, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
“Advancing Pain and Palliative Care Nationally: Challenges and Opportunities”

2010 — Stephen Salloway, MD, M.S., Brown University
“Clinical Best Practices in Dementia Care: Now and in the Future”

2009 — Andrew A. Eisen, MD, University of British Columbia
“Controversies in ALS – Some Personal Perspectives”

2008 — Louis R. Caplan, MD, Harvard Medical School
“Brain Embolism”

2007 — Bruce L. Miller, MD, University of California, San Francisco
“New Molecular and Clinical Links Between Frontotemporal Dementia and Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis”

2006 — Stephen L. Hauser, MD, University of California, San Francisco
“Genetics of Multiple Sclerosis”
2005 — Lewis P. Rowland, MD, The Neurological Institute of New York at Columbia University Medical Center “What’s New in ALS Research? A Personal List of the Top Ten Advances”

2003 — Jerome B. Posner, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
“Paraneoplastic Syndromes”

2002 — James M. Schumacher, MD, University of Miami Center for Movement Disorders
“Parkinson’s Disease and New Developments in Parkinson’s Disease Surgery”

2001 — Robert H. Brown, Jr., MD, D.Phil, Harvard Medical School
“Neurogenetics and Molecular Biology in Neurodegenerative Diseases”

2000 — Robert G. Miller, MD, California Pacific Medical Center
“New Hope in the Battle Against ALS”